63. melilla.jpg

63. city-melilla.jpg

Melilla (Spanish pronunciation: [meˈliʎa]) is an autonomous city of Spain and an exclave on the north coast of Morocco, with an area of 12.3 square kilometres (4.7 sq mi). Melilla, along with the Spanish exclave Ceuta, is one of two permanently inhabited Spanish territories in mainland Africa. It was part of Málaga province until 14 March 1995, when the city's Statute of Autonomy was passed.

Melilla, like Ceuta, was a free port before Spain joined the European Union. As of 2008 it had a population of 73,460 made up of Christians, Muslims (chiefly Riffians), and a small number of Jews. Both Spanish and Tarifit are widely spoken. Spanish is the only official language, although there have been calls to recognise Tamazight, a standardized version of all Berber languages official in Morocco, as well.