uni nairobi.JPG

The Department of Psychology was established in 1988 in the Faculty of Social Sciences at the College of Education and External Studies. The initial primary function of the Department was to service the newly established Faculty of Education by teaching Educational Psychology courses in the Bachelor (B.Ed) degree programme. Since then , however, the Department has extended its service teaching to the Faculty of External Studies; the Department of Nursing; Faculty of Science (B.Ed Science) and (Department of Agricultural Economics (Agric. Education & Extension).

The Department of Psychiatry is one of the departments at the School of Medicine, College of Health Sciences. It was established in 1971 soon after the start of the medical college in 1967. The department is situated at the medical school, Kenyatta National Hospital (KNH). For teaching purposes, the department also uses Mathari Hospital, which is situated about 10 kilometres away from KNH. At KNH together with staff from KNH we run outpatient clinics for both adults and children. Mathari hospital with approximately 700 inpatients also offers teaching facilities.  An alcohol and drug rehabilitation facility has recently been established at Mathari hospital.